Trick-or-Treat!

We’ve been in a sugar-induced coma over the last few days…
After having dinner at the Hamakos on Friday,
my sister started what I like to call “the treat snowball effect.”
(or at least that’s what I’m calling it now.)
Even though it was pouring on Saturday,
I had already pre-paid for the kids’ wristbands for Aidan’s school’s Fall Festival.
David kept asking if we really needed to go out in the monsoon,
and I insisted that we were going to go
even if it was just to pick up the pumpkins-
there was no way I was going to waste the $24 I already paid!
So we did, and it was moved inside the school.
The kids still had a blast and since the attendance was lower due to the weather,
I’m just waiting to be notified that I was one of the winners for the prize drawings.
The bouncy house was in the gym,
along with all of the games…
It was great because there were NO lines!
(Well, great for us, but probably not great considering this was a school fundraiser.)
The crafts were in the art room,
and they made foam leaves, candy corns, and turkeys.
Then we wandered down the hall to the music room for the cake walk.
The make-shift pumpkin patch was by the library (which was hosting the book fair)
and each of the kids got to pick out a small pumpkin.
Then we used the rest of our tickets on the prize drawings-
and I’m definitely going to win a gift card to all/one of the following:
* Chik-fil-a
* Applebees
*Cold Stone Creamery
* 1 Hour of Horseback Riding Lessons
That night Grandma and the Hamakos came to our house for dinner.
Auntie Erica made SNAKE!
I’m pretty sure I ate “the knee.”
(Water Boy reference, anyone?)
Then we went to Spotsylvania High School’s free Halloween Event.
… a bit too late…
everyone was tearing down and packing up.
It didn’t stop us from roaming the halls of our old stomping grounds though!
This pretty much sums up how all of the kids felt about getting there too late…
So we took them home and gave them each 5 pieces of candy!
On Sunday morning,
Aidan woke up crying from a sore throat.
So we skipped church and had a pajama day.
We made Halloween-themed sugar cookies…
… and the “treat snowball effect” led to the crowning achievement…
… the kids made it ALL THE WAY around the neighborhood on the Halloween Hayride…
which means that we have WAY too much candy in our house right now.

Exhibit A: Too much candy.

It also means that I heard “Trick-or-Treat, Smell My Feet…” about a bajillion times.
(this is the best picture of all four of our trick-or-treaters; my 3, plus their cousin, Kait)
Here is Aidan’s little friend from his school bus,
who he happened to have been caught holding hands with on numerous occasions.
After talking with her on the hayride,
MOMMY APPROVES! 
She’s precious.
Last,
but not least,
in the spirit of Halloween,
check out this ghostly picture that I snapped last night…
WHAT IN THE WORLD IS THAT?!
There wasn’t a flame in sight…
so I’m pretty sure it’s Casper the Friendly Ghost!
Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself to make me feel better.
On the inside I know,
it’s really a scene from Paranormal Activity 4.

One thought on “Trick-or-Treat!

Leave a comment